Day one, complete!  And I have to say, day one was pretty darn successful.  The whole morning I spent planning the work (of the diet) and the afternoon was spent working the plan.  It's 10:08pm and I can tell you that I did not spend any of the day hungry which is really what I thought would happen with this experiment....eat greens like it was going out of style and yet, never feeling full.  But that has pleasently not been the case.
Picture
After going to the doctor (we'll call her Dr. Pond) this morning, I don't think my medical results for this trial-run will probably be as drastic as any of the stories I heard on the film. I'm a pretty healthy lady.  I didn't go in with a poor medical history, I am not on any medications, my blood pressure was 104/62 and my weight is within the normal range for my height.  The blood work will take about a week before I know more than this, but I am optimistic.  The best part about my visit with her was learning how familiar she is with the Forks Over Knives theory.  Not only is she aware, she is a big believer in it.  Dr. Pond and her family stick to the whole-food plant-based diet except for the addition of fish 1-2 times a week.  She is in full support of my experiment.  Surprisingly, I was relieved to her her say that.  I've been charging ahead with this Forks Over Knives project without a whole lot of consideration as to how strange or extreme this may sound to those that haven't seen the movie.  When she started nodding her head and chiming in about it, I relaxed.  She has been doing for years what I have just started.  It was really nice to share a similar conviction level about what I wanted to accomplish and why.  I didn't know I craved such identification with another until I had left her office.  Thanks Dr. Pond!

As was the case yesterday, I spent an exorbitant amount of time shopping.  Two grocery stores & William Sonoma (for a food grater and a mandolin to help with food prep) took-up the rest of my morning and the beginning of my afternoon.  I was down-right pissy by the time I reached Whole Foods (third shop).  I still needed brown rice vinegar, nutritional yeast, currents, vitamin B12, brown rice syrup and a few other things.  I prayed that they would carry (and I would find) what I was looking for but, since I didn't know what these things looked like or where they were located, it was a but grueling. 

Picture
Take, for instance, nutritional yeast.  Who has ever heard of this? And if someone has, where would you find it in a grocery store?  To me, it made sense to begin in the baking aisle with all the baking yeasts.  That is where I went first at Kroger but it was a complete bust.  All kinds of yeast, but nothing nutritional about them.  Then I went to the organic section of the store where there were (again) many yeast options...some in small vaccum sealed packets, some in brown-tinted glass jars...but none of it said nutritional.  So I looked on the back of the packages.  Maybe all yeast is nutritional and this is just an exaggeration by the cookbook author to emphasize your nutritional benefit from eating this ingrediant?  But, no.  Yeast packets contain...drum roll please...yeast, and no real nutrition.  When I came across the most unique-looking of the yeast options I was super-close to putting it in my basket and convincing myself that I was, in fact, looking at the right product.  Immediatly, though, visions of being wrong danced in my head.  I saw myself becoming puffy and bloated from consuming too much of the wrong kind of yeast; side effects of the yeast expanding inside me.  I'd swell upwards and sideways, eventually resembling the Stay-Puff Marshmallow Man.  With the jar back on the shelf, I walked away defeated. 

I did eventually find what I was looking for.  In my ingredient photo above, it's the yellow bottle in the middle.  It looks nothing like yeast.  It looks like yellow fish food...you know...the flakey kind.  It was in the seasoning isle next to the seasoned salt.  Who knew?  The bottle claims it "adds delicious flavor to foods & recipes."  And to test that claim, I'm gonna open it right now and let you know what I think.  Here goes------First, I note the bottle is sealed for freshness.  That's a comforting sign indicating it's a quality joint producing this stuff.  They've at least got that going for them.  Sniff.  It smells like chicken or beef boullion cubes.  Lick my finger, put it in the jar...holy crap!  It's potent...potent....potent what?  I tried it 4 more times before deciding it tasted like pork rinds.  Slightly burnt pork rinds.  Not entirely unpleasent.  This is one of those products I think I could acquire a taste for with a few go-rounds. 

Moving on...

FRUIT PECTIN:  a naturally occurring substance (a polyscaccaride) found in  berries, apples and  other fruit.  When heated together with sugar, it  causes a thickening that is  characteristic of jams and jellies. (according to pickyourown.org).  Wahoo!!!  It's not a sugar!!  This discovery lead me to my most enjoyable purchases of the day:  Crofter's Organic Strawberry Fruit Spread and Mary's Gone Crackers Organic Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free Herb crackers.  So pleased that I finally found products that passed the stern limits of the Forks Over Knives diet, I delighted in every bite.  John loved both and Aidan (John's son--who only tried the crackers) like it too. 

Picture
What I ate today that kept me feeling content and full:

Breakfast:  4 celery stalks with peanut butter and raisens (ants on a log)
Lunch:  Amy's Butternut Squash Soup with whole grain rice added
Snack:  1/2 a banana, some of those good crackers and some of that fruit spread
Dinner:  Salad and vegetables with homemade orange/walnut/tomato salad dressing
Vitamins:  B12, Multi, D, E, Zinc & C.  Vitamin B12 is the only one I added to my regular routine.  Dr. Pond recommended it for energy maintenance.  Said it's the only vitamin that is lacking from the diet and this confirms what the book said.

Can't explain why so little kept me so full.  Looking forward to actually cooking tomorrow! 




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Tracy Thomas and I'm a 38 year old woman living in the wonderful city of Louisville, Kentucky.  I'm a mom, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a girlfriend, an employee and a volunteer.  Curiosity is at my core which lead me to the Forks Over Knives documentary and this crazy experiment of mine.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

      QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS?