I cannot accurately express just how difficult this past weekend was.  I tried to in my last blog, but sometimes you don't really know how bad things are until you are out of them and looking back.  It's Monday evening and I'm better.   Not feeling normal yet, but much better.  First, I want to thank my friend "Benny" for reaching out to me last night after I posted my blog.  A year and a half ago, Benny began a nutritional regimen that required him to spend at least his first week on an "organic cleanse" that left him feeling and experiencing much of what I have been going through.  He told me to hang in there and said things would begin "leveling out" in a week or so.  Said the first week is BY FAR the worst.  Thanks Benny.  Needed that.

It was tough to wake-up again today with hunger and funkiness fore-front on my mind.  Actually, I was pissed.  "This totally sucks," I thought.  I made a descent smoothie (my own concoction) and tried to move on.  After Brody was on the bus, I thought about how this funky state of mine could be quickly be remedied by a  Chicken Biscuit from Chick-Fil-A.  Satisfaction would be immediate.  I'm not lying.  Food's effect on me is incredible.  But sadly, I headed to my local "earthy" grocery store, Rainbow Blossom, for round five of the grocery-store tango.
Picture
Pulling up, I remebered that this place had a smootie bar inside.  Not just any smoothie bar...a vegan smoothie bar.  Within minutes I was dancing around the store with my Gorilla Delight; slirping my second smoothie before 10am.  This one, though, was packed with nutrients and protien.  When they heard about my experiment, they hooked me up real nice....  Thanks LIFEbar!!!  I'll be good for at least another hour. 

The next 35 minutes I spent reading more lables, but this time I was focused.  No more of this recipe s**t.  I want quick stuff.  Put it in my purse, run out the door and nibble/nuke as I please.  Seventy dollars later I had a "whole bunch" of nibble stuff, some bread (wahoo!!) and a pleasently full belly (see picture for EVERYTHING I bought for $70).  I slipped into Trader Joe's ($40 more spent) for more produce and headed to John's place.

Picture
Monday's are my favorite day of the week.  Both John and I are off work and we always spend the day together.  Never know what we might get in to.  Today I was so happy to hop out of my car in good spirits and share that with John.  We both deserved it.  He's really been supportive of this lifestyle change and even stated he would eat anything I cooked.  I've also noticed that although he is not doing this with me, he's beefed-up his veggie intake and been watching what he eats.  He's never been a big junk-food guy but is still making healthier choices.

Take last night for example.  I made meal #2:  Curried Rice Salad.  The ingrediants looked promising:  brown basmati rice, zest & juice of two limes, brown rice syrup (like corn syrup), dried currants, green onions, cilantro, jalapeno pepper, red onion & curry powder.  As I put it all together, it was starting to taste promising.  Then I added the rice to it and I didn't like it very much.  I had this huge bowl of brown rice "salad" and didn't want to eat any of it.  John, on the other hand, said, "This tastes really good.  A little salt and pepper and it'd be great."  While I only had a small scoop for dinner, John filled his plate and even made some "umm" sounds as  it went down the hatch.  After dinner, I placed the bowl in his fridge (he likes late-nite snacks) and went home with Brody only to return 5 minutes later when I realized that Brody had forgotten his shoes.

After I rolled out of his driveway last night, John picked up his phone and pressed speed dial.  "Cafe Lou Lou's.  Would you like to place an order?"  Yes.  That's right people.  Sweet Brother John placed an emergency call to his favorite sandwich joint immediatly upon my departure.  It all happened so lightening-quick that he'd hung-up with them before I rolled back into his driveway to pick-up Brody's shoes.  Guess that's another unforseen side-effect of this diet:  deception.  Great.  My son pukes up the meals and my boyfriend eats them and then orders take-out behind my back.  Too funny.  At this rate, bet I'll be plotting against myself any day now.
Picture
After a few hard laughs about John's admission, my day only got better when I scored my first big success cooking on this diet.  I decided to wing-it making hummus.  I needed something snacky and spreadable and easy...something I could lean on when I got "hangry" -- my cousin Andrea's word for hungry and angry.  Besides, how hard could hummus be?  Chickpeas, tahini, a little kosher salt and lemon juice.  WHAH BAMM!!  At first, the blender didn't want to cooperate but with a little smooth talking and some gentle pokes to those little peas, I was blendin' freak in no time.  After my first sample, I started giggling and jumping around.  As the spread got creamier and creamier I spoke to it.  "Come on.  Come on.  Gimme some of that chickpea magic."  "Uh huh." "Work that hummus.  Work it."  IT WAS DIVINE.  COSMIC.  An experience that could only be fully appreciated after three days of diet doldrums.  I was giddy as we munched on it and kept commenting on how good it was.  We ate it with everything today...carrot sticks, crackers, plain and even on my baked potato.  I will sleep well tonight knowing I've got a growing arsinal of foods to count on.  John will sleep well too but probably not from the hummus.  My bet is it will have something to do with the Tony Boombozz pizza driver that just pulled into his driveway. ;)




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Tracy Thomas and I'm a 38 year old woman living in the wonderful city of Louisville, Kentucky.  I'm a mom, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a girlfriend, an employee and a volunteer.  Curiosity is at my core which lead me to the Forks Over Knives documentary and this crazy experiment of mine.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

      QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS?