Picture
This rather gross picture represents the foods that we humans get the vitamin B 12 from.  I stole the picture off WebMD which also said the following about the essential vitamin: "Vitamin B12 is found in animal products such as meat, shellfish, milk, cheese, and eggs. Strict vegetarians (vegans) who do not eat animal products...are at increased risk  for developing anemia and should take a supplement containing vitamin B12." Great.  Yet another essential nutrient I'm probably not getting enough of.

Unlike protein and tryptophan though, I knew this one could happen.  Both my doctor and the Forks Over Knives How To Companion Book suggested a supplement be taken while on this nutritional program because the vitamin B 12 is essential for energy production.  I just haven't wanted to take it.  When I have in the past, it's made me feel jumpy; like I've had few a really strong cups of coffee.  But I'm gonna have to change my tune.  For the last several nights, I have gotten at least 8 to 9 hours of sleep only to be totally spent the following day.  And we're talking really good, deep sleep.  The kind indicated by big blanket creases across your face.  But good sleep hasn't been enough to keep me alert through the day.  Crazy isn't it?  That getting a good night sleep might not be enough.  I've never associated the feeling of being "rested' with anything other than sleep. This makes me wonder a bit about the other aspects of my life that are directly affected by diet, yet I associate them to something else.

Problem:  Tired                                                                        Problem:  Depressed
My natural thought:  Not enough sleep                                  My natural thought:  Just been "one of those days"
Food-related possibility:  Need more vitamin B 12                Food-related possibility:  Serotonin low

Problem:  Restless sleeping                                                  
My natural thought:  Stressed & busy mind                           
Food-related possibility:  Need more tryptophan 

If you consider a typical American's solution to these "problems" though, food is not even part of the conversation.  When was the last time someone told you they went to the doctor about feeling depressed and they were told to increase their protein (serotonin is produced with the help of protein)?  Instead, if we're tired we have caffeine.  If we're depressed we take an anti-depressant.  If our sleep is restless, we pop an Ambien.  I'm not saying that these are bad solutions.  I am the first to admit I've done this.  But it would have been nice to know (before the meds) what I could have done naturally.  Not that I would have done it...but it would have been nice to know.  And I'm glad I know now.
Picture
I found my fromagerie (left)! Le Cordon Bleu diploma in hand (right).
Speaking of depression...it's a tragedy to admit that due to this insane experiment of mine I no longer enjoy my favorite past-time:  eating.  I love food so much that, on a recent trip to France, my agenda included taking a cooking class at Le Cordon Bleu and finding the best fromagerie (cheese shop) in Paris.  I even spent half a day looking for Rue Cler because I heard it had the best street market in the city (it fell a little short of expectations). 

I have now been reduced to staring at photos of what once was and looking forward to "cheating" by way of a turkey sandwich.  What the hell was I thinking?  These days I dread feeling hungry because I know that means I have to eat to make that feeling to away.  Nowadays, I eat to live and for no other reason.  This has been a strange adjustment.  Where once I used to look forward to every meal and get excited about the things I could cook and how yummy they'd be, I now just throw random stuff in a bowl (stuff I know has the nutrients I need), pour some type of vinegar or runny sauce over the top and force it down.  The downside, of course, is that there is no pleasure.  But there is an upside too (thank God).  It's kind-of like exercise.  You hate to do it but you always feel great afterwards.  Once I've eaten, I'm really proud that I've remained on the diet, I hardly ever feel tired --which used to be common for me, and I enjoy knowing I've eaten the right things that are going to optimize how my body works and how I feel.  And I do feel good.  Not great yet, but (aside from my amateur nutrient challenges) solidly good.

Most people that have been on the Forks Over Knives nutritional program for a while report "never feeling better."  That's encouraging because something has to keep me from falling off the wagon.  "Never feeling better" is something to live for, I guess.  But when you hear really enthusiastic people swearing they'll never go back to their old ways, it helps.  For a week now I have been trying to contact members of the Esselstyn Nutritional Program support group.  To translate this, Dr. Esselstyn was one of the three doctors featured in the Forks Over Knives documentary so this is an actual SUPPORT GROUP for the diet.  This is nuts!  Anyway, I finally heard back from a lady yesterday who wrote the following: "Tracy, I cried first wk.  but after 15 mo. would never change.  Feel great, half the pills and BP good!!!"  It's life-changing personal stories like this that remind me how important this diet can be, how respectful I want to be of it and how much I want to give it a fair shot.  Even if it is just for six weeks.

Duke
5/11/2013 01:06:23 am

Hang in there! I'm impressed. Apparently there is a group that meets at Baptist East

Reply
Terri Burks
10/20/2015 12:29:14 pm

I, too, plan to start the Esselstyne diet (or eat as close to it as I can.)
I read where a group meets monthly at different Louisville restaurants. They are served vegan diets prepared especially for them.
I'd love to partake in this, but don't know how to find them. Do you know how I can reach them, or get a list of the restaurants' dates, times and places?
Thank you so much!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Tracy Thomas and I'm a 38 year old woman living in the wonderful city of Louisville, Kentucky.  I'm a mom, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a girlfriend, an employee and a volunteer.  Curiosity is at my core which lead me to the Forks Over Knives documentary and this crazy experiment of mine.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

      QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS?