9 a.m.
When I'm hungry, it's not the actual hunger sensation that gets to me the most.  No one likes a growling belly, but I can deal with that.  It's the anxiety I get from being hungry that really kills me.  This manifests in the form of jumpiness, light depression, restless nights of sleep, inability to concentrate for very long...just an overall sense of "un-calm".  I HATE IT.  It is my biggest issue with this diet.  So on this "Steaks Over Sprouts" day of pleasure, I absolutely refuse to go the entire day (and probably a few hours into my date tonight) before beginning to feel anxiety-relief from eating whatever I want. 

After finishing an early-morning errand, I make a bee line to Whole Foods.  I grab a few diet-friendly items (including their guacamole---absolutely sinful!!!) and the item I actully came in for.  U ready?  Their Chicken Tikka Naan Sandwich.  It's just too good to describe so I won't, but know that if it's gonna be my first cheat item of the day it's probably pretty good.  And it's got all the heavy-hitters in it:  milk, chicken, cheese, canola oil, cream cheese, sour cream, buttermilk, eggs and sugar...just to name the major players.  No wonder I love it so much!!  I am so EXCITED!!!
Picture
So I'm sitting here, chomping on some guac and blogging...waiting for my sandwich to finish warming in the pan...when I smell something.  Perhaps it's because I haven't really cooked anything in a week that it took me about five more minutes of chomping and blogging before I figured out what that smell was.  My sandwich!!!!!!!!  I run to the kitchen, fan away the smoke that's coming from my frying pan and try to absorb the fact that this sandwich is...dare I say it...not edible!!!  NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

So now I'm sitting here laughing and blogging about my freakin luck.  The only reason I'm not crying and blogging is because there was a second half to the sandwich that is currently warming up (with hawk-like supervision).  I'm not much into signs and stuff, but could this be one of them?  Could my day-off from kale, black beans and expensive snacks I'll ultimately throw away be a sin and the diet Gods are sending me an early-morning sign?  Only the rest of the day will tell...

11:16 p.m.
OK guys.  Date night is over.  I've had the most wonderful night.  Lots to share, but I've had a few drinks and am really tired.  Just want to call it a night.  So.....sorry to cut you guys short but I am going to bed.  I've got a full belly & am really optimistic for a great night of sleep!!  Thank you so much for reading and sending me your thoughts.  This is a really fun experiment. 
Christine
5/4/2013 02:13:39 am

Dying to hear what you ate for dinner last night!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Tracy Thomas and I'm a 38 year old woman living in the wonderful city of Louisville, Kentucky.  I'm a mom, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a girlfriend, an employee and a volunteer.  Curiosity is at my core which lead me to the Forks Over Knives documentary and this crazy experiment of mine.

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013

      QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS?